R. Narasimhan

R. Narasimhan


PhD, California Institute of Technology, 1986
MS, California Institute of Technology, 1983
BTech, IIT Madras, 1982

+91 080 2293 2959

Research Interests

Computational solid mechanics and materials science, Fracture behavior of materials, Mechanical behavior of materials, Mechanics of indentation, Modeling of inelastic and large deformation problems like indentation, impact, metal forming, etc.


  • ME 242 Solid Mechanics
  • ME 257 Finite Element Methods
  • ME 259 Nonlinear Finite Element Methods
  • ME 293 Fracture Mechanics

Selected Recent Publications

  • Narasimhan, R. (2004). Analysis of indentation of pressure sensitive plastic solids using the expanding cavity model.Mechanics of materials, 36(7), 633-645.
  • Vanimisetti, S. K., & Narasimhan, R. (2007). A numerical analysis of flexure induced cylindrical cracks during indentation of thin hard films on soft substrates.Thin solid films, 515(6), 3277-3282.
  • Patil, S. D., Narasimhan, R., & Mishra, R. K. (2009). Observation of kink shear bands in an aluminium single crystal fracture specimen. Scripta Materialia, 61(5), 465-468.
  • Murali, P., Guo, T. F., Zhang, Y. W., Narasimhan, R., Li, Y., & Gao, H. J. (2011). Atomic scale fluctuations govern brittle fracture and cavitation behavior in metallic glasses. Physical Review Letters, 107(21), 215501.
  • Biswas, P., Narasimhan, R., & Kumar, A. M. (2013). Interaction between a notch and cylindrical voids in aluminum single crystals: experimental observations and numerical simulations. Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids, 61(4), 1027-1046.

​​Sponsored Projects

  • Microstructure based crystal plasticity model of failure in sheet deformation (GM R&D): 2005-2013
  • J.C. Bose National Fellowship Research Grant (DST, Govt of India) : 2010-date

Additional Information

  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Engineering Sciences,1999, for outstanding contributions to the field of Fracture Mechanics
  • Elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences in 1999
  • Elected Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy in 2001
  • Elected Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, 2002
  • JC Bose Fellow (Department of Science & Technology) : 2010-date
  • Regional Editor of International Journal of Fracture (a Springer journal) from 2002
  • Member, Science and Engineering Research Council (DST) from 2007 – 2012
  • Member/Chairman, DST Program Advisory Committee (PAC) on Mech Engg & Robotics, (2007-2015)
  • Member/Chairman, Engg . Sciences Research Council, CSIR, (2012-2018)
  • Member/Chairman, INSA Sectional Committee for Engg & Tech (2009-2012)
  • Member, Council of INSA (from 2018)